Monday, January 28, 2008

Former US, Ohio Treasurer Mary Ellen Withrow endorsed John!

Today Mary Ellen Withrow, Former Treasurer of the United States and Former Ohio Treasurer, endorsed John O’Grady in the Democratic primary for Franklin County Commissioner. In addition to her decades of public service, Withrow is well known as an advocate for women. She was a member of the board of directors for Women Executives in State Government, a recipient of that organization’s fellowship to Harvard University, and an inductee into the Ohio Women’s Hall of Fame.

Mary Ellen Withrow released the following statement in announcing her endorsement:

“I’ve had the good fortune of knowing John O’Grady for over twenty years. John is the kind of leader that recognizes public service is a privilege. When he takes on a job, he works in the best interest of the public and he always sees the job through. I strongly endorse John for Franklin County Commissioner because he has the proven ability to work with everyone to bring new jobs and opportunity to Franklin County.”

Bio of Mary Ellen Withrow, courtesy of the U.S. Treasury.
Mary Ellen Withrow was confirmed unanimously by the Senate to be the 40th Treasurer of the United States on February 10, 1994, and was sworn into office March 1, 1994. She served until January 20, 2001.

She was the first person to have held the post of treasurer at all three levels of government -- local, state and national.

She was elected Treasurer of her native Marion County, Ohio, in 1976 and 1980. She was then elected as Ohio State Treasurer in 1982 and re-elected in 1986 and 1990.

During her tenure as Ohio's Treasurer, Withrow's innovative programs, management efficiencies and record earnings for Ohio earned her nationwide recognition. In March 1992 she received the Donald L. Scantlebury Memorial Award from the Treasury's Joint Financial Management Improvement Program for financial excellence and improvement in government.

She was named the nation's Most Valuable State Public Official by City & State Newspaper in 1990. She is past president of the National Association of State Treasurers, and past president of the National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers.

Withrow, who began her career in public service in 1969 as the first woman elected to the Elgin Local School Board in Marion County, was a member of the board of directors of Women Executives in State Government, an inductee into the Ohio Women's Hall of Fame and a recipient of a Women Executives in State Government fellowship to Harvard University. She currently serves on numerous national boards as well.